Friday, June 29, 2018

Summer reading




James J. Caterino's "Caitlin Star" series is like a spike of adrenaline injected straight into the heart.

Set in a contemporary dystopia, the books feature the strong-willed action hero Caitlin Star, a former track athlete and a  "Bull Mongoni" warrior, a discipline and philosophy based on a mythic species of hominids who roamed the earth long ago, and who play a key role in the epic plot of this action-packed series.

Books 1-3, (contained in the beautifully packaged "Caitlin Star: The Trilogy"), tell Caitlin's origin story against the backdrop of a North American civil war and a WWIII apocalyptic event. In book 4, "Caitlin Star and the Hand of God", Caitlin and her friends fight to protect the last paradise on Earth, the Congo Basin, against an authoritarian invader and his cult following.

Brimming with references to evolution, history, hard science, and loaded with non-stop colorful action adventure and memorable characters, the "Caitlin Star" books are riveting, page-turning, epic entertainment from start to finish.








If you like stuff like "Close Encounters of the Third Kind", "E.T.", and "The X-Files", I promise you are going to love "Watch the Skies".

“Watch the Skies” is a wild, exciting, epic tale of UFOs and alien abduction, spanning fifty years and told through the eyes of three woman who must find a way to endure all that happens to them until the very end, when all will finally be revealed.






"The Last Neanderthal" is a take on the Bigfoot legend and represents James J. Caterino's most complete and balanced work to date. It has the action and philosophy of "Caitlin Star" and the emotional character interaction of "The B Girl". In movie pitch lingo it could be described as "King Kong" meets "Harry and the Hendersons", by way of "Rise of the Planet of the Apes".




First published in 2005 and recently re-released with new cover art, "She" is a haunting, suspenseful tale about an unsolved murder mystery from the past, an a mysterious woman who appears in the present, and is dead ringer for the long dead victim.

From the back cover:

"We are driving on Street Runs Road now. This is the road—the place where it happened, the birthplace of my journey, the crossroads, the crux of time where the line between life and death merged. It is the place where I was forever changed." 

In July of 1983, JC Pezzini and his parents were involved in a deadly hit-and-run car accident. A mysterious Good Samaritan referred to as “She” was the only reason JC survived—and finding She has become his all-consuming passion in life. More than twenty years later, JC is a filmmaker, a voyeur, and a man haunted by his past. 

With the help of his psychiatrist, his friends, and old acquaintances of the unknown woman, JC will attempt to get closer to She than he could ever hope to—even in his most lucid daydreams. Whether through regression hypnotherapy, time travel by means of an anti-reality chamber, or sheer determination, JC won’t stop until he recovers the answers he has been searching for all these years. 

After coming across a stunning She look-alike named Angela, JC is convinced he’s almost completed his life quest. Only then are the real answers—and the shocking secrets that have hidden the truth—revealed.

Monday, June 11, 2018

The essential James J. Caterino


James J. Caterino's "Caitlin Star" series is like a spike of adrenaline injected straight into the heart. 

Set in a contemporary dystopia, the books feature the strong-willed action hero Caitlin Star, a former track athlete and a  "Bull Mongoni" warrior, a discipline and philosophy based on a mythic species of hominids who roamed the earth long ago, and who play a key role in the epic plot of this action-packed series.

Books 1-3, (contained in the beautifully packaged "Caitlin Star: The Trilogy"), tell Caitlin's origin story against the backdrop of a North American civil war and a WWIII apocalyptic event. In book 4, "Caitlin Star and the Hand of God", Caitlin and her friends fight to protect the last paradise on Earth, the Congo Basin, against an authoritarian invader and his cult following.

Brimming with references to evolution, history, hard science, and loaded with non-stop colorful action adventure and memorable characters, the "Caitlin Star" books are riveting, page-turning, epic entertainment from start to finish.







An illustrator at an ad agency creates a drawing of a woman taking a selfie for a smart phone ad campaign. Then, he comes across a real-life, living version of the exact same woman and image.

In the tradition of "The Twilight Zone", "The Outer Limits", and "Amazing Stories", "The Selfie" is a bold, shocking, romantic, unforgettable short story from the lurid imagination of James J. Caterino, author of “Watch the Skies” and “Caitlin Star: The Trilogy.”





If you like stuff like "Close Encounters of the Third Kind", "E.T.", and "The X-Files", I promise you are going to love "Watch the Skies".

“Watch the Skies” is a wild, exciting, epic tale of UFOs and alien abduction, spanning fifty years and told through the eyes of three woman who must find a way to endure all that happens to them until the very end, when all will finally be revealed.






"The Last Neanderthal" is a take on the Bigfoot legend and represents James J. Caterino's most complete and balanced work to date. It has the action and philosophy of "Caitlin Star" and the emotional character interaction of "The B Girl". In movie pitch lingo it could be described as "King Kong" meets "Harry and the Hendersons", by way of "Rise of the Planet of the Apes".






Alycia is on the trip of a lifetime. She is deep in the rain forest of the Congo Basin, conducting field research for her doctoral thesis in Anthropology. She leads a team of fellow students and a professor. All is going well until they come across a murderous group of poachers who hold them at gunpoint, determined to torment the group of academics before leaving them for dead. Things get ugly and all appears lost, until, a mysterious bare-chested man appears, giving the poachers more than they bargained for.

They say he lost someone in one of the countless American mass shootings. They say he snapped, hoisted a NRA stooge Senator over his head, tossed him like a rag doll, and was sent to jail. They say he came to the Congo to escape humanity, and protect the last patch of paradise on Earth. They call him the Eco-Warrior.
John Kregar is, the Eco-Warrior.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Fantastic Stories: The short fiction of James J. Caterino

Best known for his exciting, action-packed "Caitlin Star" series ,and the harrowing and heartfelt coming of age story, "The Last Neanderthal", the wildly imaginative and always entertaining author, James J. Caterino, now has four knockout short stories available on Amazon Kindle that will blow you away.



Barry Baton dies in a car accident and is cryogenically frozen in suspended animation. When the technology to bring him back arrives in ten years, he is revived. He awakens into a Trumpian, fascist nightmare—a dark, dystopian, oppressive world, more terrifying than anything he could have imagined.

“Barry's Run” is a riveting, cautionary, action-packed science fiction short story from the lurid imagination of James J. Caterino, the wildly controversial author of “The Eco-Warrior”, “Battle of the Network Superheroes”, and the “Caitlin Star” series.





Alycia is on the trip of a lifetime. She is deep in the rain forest of the Congo Basin, conducting field research for her doctoral thesis in Anthropology. She leads a team of fellow students and a professor. All is going well until they come across a murderous group of poachers who hold them at gunpoint, determined to torment the group of academics before leaving them for dead. Things get ugly and all appears lost, until, a mysterious bare-chested man appears, giving the poachers more than they bargained for.

They say he lost someone in one of the countless American mass shootings. They say he snapped, hoisted a NRA stooge Senator over his head, tossed him like a rag doll, and was sent to jail. They say he came to the Congo to escape humanity, and protect the last patch of paradise on Earth. They call him the Eco-Warrior.

John Kregar is, the Eco-Warrior
.



An illustrator at an ad agency creates a drawing of a woman taking a selfie for a smart phone ad campaign. Then, he comes across a real-life, living version of the exact same woman and image.

In the tradition of "The Twilight Zone", "The Outer Limits", and "Amazing Stories", "The Selfie" is a bold, shocking, romantic, unforgettable short story from the lurid imagination of James J. Caterino, author of “The B Girl” and “Caitlin Star: The Trilogy.”




When they decided to bring back a new, re-imagined version of “The Battle of the Network Stars”, writer James J. Caterino knew he had to find a way to get into the competition. And when he did, it became the adventure of a lifetime.

“Battle of the Network Superheroes” is another wild, wickedly entertaining tale from the fevered imagination of controversial author James J. Caterino, creator of “Steel Phantom”, “Among the Stars”, “The Last Neanderthal”, and the “Caitlin Star” series.