Thursday, February 27, 2020

Top ten films of 2019 and 2002


Way behind in this but wanted to keep the thirty-five year tradition going and put down my official top ten film list for 2019. Also included, a look back at my top ten for 2002, one of my favorite years for movies in the 2000s.




Top ten of 2019

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Avengers Endgame
A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Midway
Bombshell
The Irishman
Captain Marvel
1917
Alita: Battle Angel
Happy Death Day 2U




Top ten of 2002

Far From Heaven
Auto Focus
The Road to Perdition
Catch Me If You Can
Insomnia
One Hour Photo
The Mothman Prophecies
Dragonfly
Laurel Canyon
Minority Report

Sunday, February 16, 2020

'She', fifteenth anniversary



A unique novel about time travel and obsession, "She" is unlike anything you have read before. First published in 2005, "She" is a science fiction mystery thriller heavily influenced by film noir of the 1940s, David Cronenberg's 1983 film "Videodrome", the short stories of Harlan Ellison, and the erotic thrillers of the 1990s.

From the back cover copy:

We are driving on Street Runs Road now. This is the road-the place where it happened, the birthplace of my journey, the crossroads, the crux of time where the line between life and death merged. It is the place where I was forever changed.In July of 1983, JC Pezzini and his parents were involved in a deadly hit-and-run car accident. A mysterious Good Samaritan referred to as "She" was the only reason JC survived-and finding She has become his all-consuming passion in life.More than twenty years later, JC is a filmmaker, a voyeur, and a man haunted by his past. With the help of his psychiatrist, his friends, and old acquaintances of the unknown woman, JC will attempt to get closer to She than he could ever hope to-even in his most lucid daydreams. Whether through regression hypnotherapy, time travel by means of an anti-reality chamber, or sheer determination, JC won't stop until he recovers the answers he has been searching for all these years.After coming across a stunning She look-alike named Angela, JC is convinced he's almost completed his life quest. Only then are the real answers-and the shocking secrets that have hidden the truth-revealed.

Search inside, journey into the forbidden past, and read a sample of "She".



Sunday, February 2, 2020

The Selfie', a bold, romantic, imaginative short story

The Selfie', available as a stand-alone short on Kindle, or as part of Fantastic Stories.



An illustrator at an ad agency creates a drawing of a woman taking a selfie for a smart phone ad campaign. Then, he comes across a real-life, living version of the exact same woman and image.

In the tradition of "The Twilight Zone", "The Outer Limits", and "Amazing Stories", "The Selfie" is a bold, shocking, romantic, unforgettable short story from the lurid imagination of James J. Caterino, author of 
 "The Girl from the Stars", "Fantastic Stories", "Fireflies", "Watch the Skies", and the "Caitlin Star" series.